Rosie Rockets

A 29 year old Artist living and working in Lincoln, UK

Painting the Barons

You may or may not know that this year marks the 800th anniversary of the sealing of the Magna Carta, one of which is held at Lincoln Castle. To celebrate, Lincoln is creating a special Charter Trail across the city with statues in the form of King John’s Barons. Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 01.04.25 There will be a total of 25 6ft fibreglass Barons to find, each decorated by artists and sponsored by local businesses. I first heard of this opportunity back in February from a post by Lincoln BIG, who I’d been involved with back when I owned Lincoln Art Works gallery. Without delay I submitted three designs, knowing that this was something I really wanted to be part of. I designed one with Lincoln University in mind, one for the RAF and a final for a Beekeeping Baron. IMG_4971 A long month went by and I finally received an email from Lincoln BIG. To my delight, all three of my designs were shortlisted to show the sponsors and two of them wanted me to do the designing!! The University and The Lincoln Hotel, for which I had a month to sort out the final designs. The only way to describe how I felt was apprehensively overjoyed! One was to be a Graduate Baron and the other to be a 60’s Baron. After meetings, both sponsors couldn’t be more enthusiastic about the project and my designs. Just a little bit of redesigning later and I was ready to meet the barons in person! They were a lot LOT bigger and heavier than I imagined, despite having bought a metal hand truck in preparation, I decided to give back-up a call immediately.

FullSizeRender

Moving the first conspicuous package

It really is amazing the amount of attention you attract when lugging something heavy and body-shaped down a crowded area. But soon both the mighty figures were ready to be unwrapped…

IMG_5595

A little overwhelmed at the size of my new housemates

Right, let’s start with The Graduate! I had arranged with the University to attach a mortarboard to the top of the Graduate Baron, assuming it would be approximately head-sized. I’d have to have a re-think about this one. It wasn’t long until I had the idea to use an actual mortarboard. It would be large, strong and yet lightweight. Even better, I found a plasterers hawk which had a handle attached and so would stay in place with a single drilled hole (and the strongest resin I could get my hands on). IMG_5566   Before long the painting was on its way! IMG_5565 IMG_5576   Whilst the resin and glue were setting I sketched out my design on the back of him and the University logo on the front.IMG_5668 Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 07.55.30 Then I began to add base coats of simple colour to get a better idea of overall composition. The single strokes of paint combined with the thicker more opaque layers created depth and movement that I wasn’t expecting, so I left some areas more translucent. IMG_5627 Next, I started working on the detail. The buildings on the back…  the hair, irises and a slight blush on the face. The hardest part by far was the chain-mail effect, created with individual dots but started off by stencilling. IMG_5628   After the detail was done and checking with the sponsor, it was time to varnish! The shine gave the statue a whole new finished feel. The second baron seemed to progress a lot faster after what I had learnt painting the first. I got on with the design quickly. IMG_5651   I started off by painting the logo on the shield and then added some more detail to the sword and face… I gave him long hair with a headband and hippie glasses!IMG_5666 FullSizeRender   Starting to look a bit like John Lennon in his military jacket, the base colours are all down here. IMG_5677 Time to start on the 60’s montage on the back! IMG_5725

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 17.52.23

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 17.54.00

I was surprised at how different the varnish made them look, luminous and professional. Very happy with the results, it was then time to move them to join the others waiting at the launch event location…. eek!FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender_1The trail through the city starts on the 13th June until the 13th of December. Each of the 25 barons have a letter to find which will create a phrase at the end! I am told you will receive chocolate coins for doing so correctly!

My University Graduate baron can be seen downstairs in the Waterside Centre, and my 60’s Lincoln Hotel baron can be seen near the Roman well in the Bailgate, St Peter’s square. Happy Trailing!

Update:

There are now mini barons that can be purchased to paint, yourself! The Lincoln Hotel contacted me asking whether I would personalise theirs to match their original… I couldn’t resist

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 18.25.25

Love the outcome and reception that it got on display. I’ve had more requests for mini barons since, besides buying a couple of my own, so there’s more to come!

9 comments on “Painting the Barons

  1. Ruth
    May 19, 2015

    These are great Rosie, both brilliant and I love the 60’s design on the barons back – look forward to seeing them tomorrow at the press launch

    Like

    • rosierockets
      May 19, 2015

      Thanks Ruth! I am about all ‘baron’d out haha. See you there!

      Like

  2. Christopher Nevile
    May 20, 2015

    Our 60’s Baron looks great. Sad i can’t be at the press launch tomorrow, but well done, I hope he will one day stand as Sentry outside the Hotel.

    Like

  3. Lincoln Art Scene
    June 17, 2015

    Reblogged this on Lincoln Art Scene and commented:
    Lincoln artist, Rosie Rockets, describes the painting process she went through for two of the Barons of Lincoln! Such an amazing result! They look great! Make sure to have a look at them in the City of Lincoln and take part in the trail!

    Like

  4. Chris
    September 7, 2015

    Rosie these a great, well done, do you know where can I get a mini baron from?

    Like

    • rosierockets
      September 8, 2015

      Thank you! Yes, they’re selling them at the Tourist Information Centre in Castle Square. I believe they’re £9.95

      Like

  5. alabamalayne
    November 17, 2015

    Rosie did two mini Barons for me, they are superb. The only comment I can make is “Rosie put your prices up!”

    Like

  6. Pingback: Femmes of the Fens | Rosie Rockets

  7. Pingback: Painting the ‘Knight of the Skies’ | Rosie Rockets

Leave a Reply

