Rosie Rockets

A 28 year old Artist living and working in Lincoln, UK

Lo and Befold

Drawing is basically managing to convey something three-dimensional from a two-dimensional surface. Alongside my love for origami, I’ve found another creative world which takes this quite literally.

It all started when I was given a gift of Magical Menagerie. This consisted of a set of cute postcards in which the pieces could be popped out and interlocked, without glue or hassle. This was a kit that was very simple to use, but with very effective results. It definitely awoke the constructional problem-solver within me!

Before long I found ‘papercraft’ websites with free printable PDF’s and tutorials on how to construct full models, from simple templates to the more complex… just looking at some of the intricacy on some parts makes my brain hurt!

This one in particular is my favourite, despite very vague assembly instructions, it’s all part of the fun (she says, now all the sharp objects are safely out of reach) http://rgatt.blogspot.co.uk/, you can browse his tags down the right hand side for his various projects. Though it’s a little bit addictive!

photo 3 copy

Assembly of parts

photo 2

Cutting out my next project

photo 1

Finished result

My first attempts and what attracted me to his site, were a few Marvel related crafts. I feel like my previously blogged about love for superheroes leads no further explanation! :p

photo 1

Iron Man Mark 2

photo 2

Marvel twistar

photo 3

The Iron Patriot

I was unsurprised that the kits soon started coming to me as presents. They’re pretty impressive ones, I have to say… so much work must go into designing these things!

photo 4

Geometric deer head

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 15.14.38

MP7A1 machine gun

Check out Etsy or Firebox if your money is burning a hole in your pocket 😉

Once again, I’ve become hooked and hopefully will soon be designing my own, or doing something of a much larger scale! I’m going to need a bigger house…

Have you ever made anything out of paper or card? I’d love to see! Also if you’d like any help or advice, get in touch!

Rosie x

One comment on “Lo and Befold

  1. Pingback: Nananananananana… Batcan! | Rosie Rockets

Leave a Reply

